#### CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE COUNCIL

At a meeting of the **GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE** held at Council Chamber, Priory House, Monks Walk, Shefford on Thursday, 21 May 2015

#### **PRESENT**

Cllr Mrs J G Lawrence (Chairman)
Cllr G Perham (Vice-Chairman)

Cllrs Mrs C F Chapman MBE Cllrs M A G Versallion

Ms A M W Graham
P Hollick
B Wells
J G Jamieson
J N Young
K C Matthews
A Zerny

Apologies for Absence: Cllrs L Birt, M R Jones, A Ryan, T Swain and

T Woodward

Substitutes: Cllrs Costin for Jones

Young for Birt

Members in Attendance: Cllrs Mrs A Barker, R D Berry, M C Blair, D Bowater,

A D Brown, J Chatterley, Mrs S Clark, K M Collins, I Dalgarno, S Dixon, Mrs A L Dodwell, P Downing, P A Duckett, K Ferguson, F Firth, Mrs J Freeman,

E Ghent, Mrs S A Goodchild, C C Gomm,

Mrs D B Gurney, C Hegley, K Janes, R W Johnstone J Kane, D J Lawrence, Ms C Maudlin, D McVicar, R Morris, T Nicols, R C Stay, I Shingler, B Saunders, J A G Saunders, D Shelvey, P Smith, B J Spurr,

T Stock, G Tubb, A M Turner, B Walker,

R D Wenham

Officers in Attendance: Mr R Carr - Chief Executive

Mrs M Clay – Chief Legal and Democratic

Services Officer

Mr M Coiffait – Director of Community Services

Mr S Conaway
 Mrs S Harrison
 Mrs S Hobbs
 Mr J Longhurst
 Chief Information Officer
 Director of Children's Services
 Committee Services Officer
 Director of Regeneration and

Business

Mrs J Ogley – Director of Social Care, Health and

Housing

Ms M Peaston – Committee Services Manager

Mr C Warboys - Chief Finance Officer

### **GPC/15/1 Membership of the Appointments Panel**

The Committee received nominations from the Group Leaders in relation to the appointment of Members to the Appointments Panel.

#### **RESOLVED**

- 1. that Members be appointed to the Appointments Panel, as attached at Appendix A to the minutes; and
- 2. to note that the Appointments Sub-Committee will be appointed by the Monitoring Officer and will be composed of 3-5 Members (normally 2-4 Conservatives and 1 Independent, including at least 1 Executive Member) plus 3 substitutes (normally 2 Conservatives and 1 Independent).

(Note:	The meeting commenced at 7.10	ne meeting commenced at 7.10 p.m. and concluded at 7.12 p.m.)	
		Chairman	
		Dated	

# Appendix A

## **General Purposes Committee Nominations**

Appointments Panel  (5 Members + 3 substitutes, plus all the Executive Members with specific portfolios)	Cllr Peter Hollick (C) Cllr Jane Lawrence (C) Cllr Ken Matthews (C) Cllr Gordon Perham (C) Cllr Adam Zerny (I)
4 (2) Conservatives 1 (1) Independent	plus Executive Members as below: Cllr James Jamieson (C) Cllr Maurice Jones (C) Cllr Mrs Carole Hegley (C) Cllr Brian Spurr (C) Cllr Andrew Turner (C) Cllr Mark Versallion (C) Cllr Richard Wenham (C) Cllr Nigel Young (C) Substitutes Cllr Alison Graham (I) Cllr Nigel Warren (C) Cllr Budge Wells (C)
Appointments Sub-Committee	Appointed by the Monitoring Officer as needed from the membership of the Appointments Panel.  To comprise 3-5 members (2-4 Conservative and 1 Independent, including at least 1 Executive Member)

